The Intermittent Volunteer’s Weblog

Befriending People in Dallas Who Are Homeless

Guest Commentary: Robert Blass November 10, 2008

Filed under: Christianity,Guest Commentary,healing,inspiration,peace — Karen Shafer @ 10:16 pm

 

Freedom Of Or From Religion?  What Does It Mean?

 

Freedom of or from religion?  What does it mean?  It means we are a nation of choices. It means we are a democratic nation with the freedom to choose or not choose what God, Bible or written word we follow. We are a multi-culture and multi-religious country.

 

Freedom of choice, freedom of marriage and legislation to combat discrimination against people is a constitutional right meant to be protected by the government, not taken away by extremist religious groups. If we fail to protect those Civil Rights then we are no better than many of the countries we criticize.

 

We practice bigotry imposed on others who do not practice the religion or beliefs of some; made even worse, when that bigotry produces its own brand of terrorism right here within our own borders. That terrorism includes the lack of caring for our fellow man and their freedoms which allows many to suffer shamelessly. Historically our country has a pattern of doing this and even though we have learned and corrected ourselves through the years, we continue to get caught in new practices of bigotry that replace the old. It serves no purpose to take away rights based on religious beliefs that have no effect on the right to practice our personal beliefs and it contradicts the freedoms our country is based on. It should never be a matter of my way or no way.

 

I am a Christian who believes I answer to my God daily. I am a Christian who accepts others as they are and even thought they may not believe as I do, I love them anyway.  I am a Christian who believes that my love and example will show the way for them to find the same path to Christ I have found. I am a Christian who knows I can pray anytime, anywhere I choose. I am a Christian who makes personal life choices based on my beliefs. I am a Christian who believes I can lead by example and pray that others will follow but I do not expect the government to force my way on others.  Will we ever learn?

 

My way is NOT the fundamentalist extremist way. What kind of Christian are you?

 

May God Bless America!

 

Robert Blass

 

Thanks to Pat Spradley of the Stewpot’s Street Zine for sending this my way.  KS  [http://thestewpot.org/streetzine.asp]

 

Leave a Reply

