The Intermittent Volunteer’s Weblog

Befriending People in Dallas Who Are Homeless

Reclaiming Conversation: Are Cellphones Reducing Our Empathy for Each Other? November 27, 2015

Filed under: Communication,no technosavvywhatsoever — Karen Shafer @ 10:46 pm

From the book Reclaiming Conversation: The Power of Talk in a Digital Age, author Sherry Turkle of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology gives us her favorite quote: “Technology makes us forget what we know about life.”

This is a worthwhile conversation…

http://www.pbs.org/newshour/bb/how-your-cellphone-is-silently-disrupting-your-social-life/

 

2 Responses to “Reclaiming Conversation: Are Cellphones Reducing Our Empathy for Each Other?”

  1. melissa farina Says:

    I found it interesting she noted that it is parents and not kids who are most guilty of using the cell phone to block empathy. I have a frequent dinner guest who always brings her phone to the table, almost implying “I have people more important in my life than you”. It definitely makes me think about the presence of my own phone and what it represents. Melissa

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Karen Shafer Says:

    I thought that was interesting also about kids complaining about their parents’ phone intrusion. I think you’re right… a phone at the table implies there’s something more important and urgent that the person feels they should be doing. Having spent many a lovely evening at your table, I can say I’ve never known you to let electronics intrude upon your lucky guests!


Leave a Reply

